top of page

Paper Flowers

My love for flowers doesn't end on fresh cuts and painting subjects, I like crafting with them too! What's the next best thing to resort to, in mimicking or paying tribute to this nature's jewel, but with an organic element which is paper.


Here I am, as usual, traveling back in time. I remember the carozzas on processions and the arkos of Stacruzan on Flores De Mayo, bedecked with colorful blooms constructed from crepe paper or papel de hapon. I think as young as 8 or 9, I am already interested in how the pretty decorations were crafted. I scrutinized every twist and fold, trying to learn how each part were assembled.


Well, I'm all grown up now, but my fascination for this enduring art form is here to stay. With social media around like Pinterest, ideas and inspirations from crafters like me abound. There are always newer materials to try and better tutorials to guide. But you start "owning" a concept once you tweak, alter or innovate. Ideally, crepe and tissue papers, top the list of materials used in the paper flower making.Fabricating the individual head is one, but how they are going to be coordinated and displayed is another.


For the projects I am sharing here, I opted for color copy paper, as stiffer petals are required. I touched and feel the innumerable variety of items at the craft section of a store, till I ended up at the office supplies area and discovered the potential of the humble copy paper.


By the way, of all the paper flower blogger out there, I like Lia Griffith the most. Check out her work at www.liagriffith.com or at her Pinterest page https://www.pinterest.com/liag/


Featured here are the huge paper flowers I formed, used in store window displays and a flower studded monogram, to gift a pretty little girl.



The flowers were created from scratch, beginning on petal templates and its mass production, until formation. (Origami cranes as photo bombers!)

Dinner plate sized beauties....

Petal fabrication tutorial in pictures...

Yours truly, tucking my last baby....

N for nice & neat! I hope you all agree =) ...and that the little girl will adore it atop her bed headboard...

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Grey Facebook Icon
  • Grey Pinterest Icon
  • Grey Instagram Icon
  • Grey Twitter Icon
  • Facebook - Grey Circle
  • Pinterest - Grey Circle
  • Instagram - Grey Circle
  • Twitter - Grey Circle
bottom of page