top of page

Plarn (plastic yarn)

I am always challenged and inspired to come up with something, especially when the material is inexpensive, abundant and with a steady supply. Plastic grocery bag is one. Well, weird as it seems, the supermarkets in my part of the world are lavishly giving away this so-called environmental hazard. Like you can bag each item separately for all they care. My designated organizer for it can only hold as much and I have to throw a lot of the excess.


I am environmental at heart, but what drove me to put these article of another use was more of not wanting to waste. Of all the craft that is made up of a plastic bag, turning them to plarn (plastic yarn) and using it for weaving is the most that appeals to me. Rugs, totes, placemats and glass coasters were the products that rushed in my mind.


Gotten my hands to work on this project and I pretty much enjoyed the process and the more I am convinced of the potential of this humble item. I think if the plarn can be dyed, which I would experiment on in the future, or if the poke will come in nicer colors, it will be much exciting to work with.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Grey Facebook Icon
  • Grey Pinterest Icon
  • Grey Instagram Icon
  • Grey Twitter Icon
  • Facebook - Grey Circle
  • Pinterest - Grey Circle
  • Instagram - Grey Circle
  • Twitter - Grey Circle
bottom of page